AAG Specialty Group of Recreation Tourism and Sport Specialty Group 1998-1999 Report


Description remains same on AAG website but my e-mail is now <bcarmich@wlu.ca>. The Chair is changing but website can be adjusted later (see note on new officers).

URL www.geog.nau.edu/rts/

Dues $3 (student $1)

Officers 1997-1999

Chair 1997-1999

Barbara Carmichael, Wilfrid Laurier University, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada N2L 3C5, voice 519 884-1970, ext 2609, fax 519 725-1342, e-mail bcarmich@mach1.wlu.ca

Newsletter Editor to 1998

Bob Janiskee, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC 29208, voice 803 777-6739, fax 803 777-4972, e-mail janiskee@garnet.cla.sc.edu

Board Members 1997-1999

Dimitri Ioannides, Southwest Missouri State University, Springfield, Missouri 65804-0089, voice 417 836-5800, fax 417 836-6934, e-mail D11608F@mail.smsu.edu

Charles Stanfield, Rowan College, Glassboro, NJ, voice 609 256-4500

Simon Milne, University of Wellington, NZ, formerly McGill University

Scott Loban, Student member, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC 29208

Specialty Group Accomplishments

The major accomplishments for 1998-1999 :

A. Publication of two issues of the RTS -SG newsletter, May (Bob Janiskee), December (Rob Bristow)

B. Distribution of RTS membership directory (available on home page)

C. Active rts listserv discussion list.

D. At the 1999 conference in Honolulu, there were 9 RTS sponsored paper sessions and 3 RTS sponsored panel sessions (48 papers, 21 panelists/ discussants). Another 7 paper sessions were RTS related (30 papers) and 5 sessions were cosponsored with the IGU sustainable tourism group. This was truly an international meeting with delegates from Australia, New Zealand , Europe and North America. We were successful in forging links with the IGU group on Sustainable Tourism and held a joint meeting with them at our annual conference.

E. Student Paper competition award at AAG meeting presented to doctoral student Margaret Pawlick, McMaster university($150).

F.Rudi Hartmann was honored with the Roy Wolfe Award and Lloyd Hudman received the John Rooney Award at the AAG meeting. A Special Award was given posthumously to Martin Oppermann for his research contribution to RTS.

G. Enrichment funds of $250 each were applied for and granted to two visitors to the AAG meeting. In Honolulu. Recipients were Peter Murphy (la Trobe University, Melbourne, Australia) and Richard Butler (University of Surrey, UK).

H: New Officers for1999-2001

The following members were acclaimed as new officers:

Incoming Chair:

Dimitri Ioannides (details for new entry in AAG website given in list of board members for 1997-99. However, Dimitri is still on sabbatical in the UK so we should leave the entry in my name until he returns in September)

Board Members:

Alan Lew, Barbara Carmichael, Bob Janiskee, Dallen Timothy (who later agreed to substitute for Alan Lew)


Anne Marie D'Hauteserre

Newsletter Editor:

Robert Bristow

Student Representative:

Margaret Pawlick

Activities scheduled for the coming year and future plans and directions

Membership and Participation

Membership based on renewals (provided in letter from Ron Abler) was approximately 282 (194 regular members and 88 students). This represents a healthy increase from the 225 last year. About 10% are hard core, always attending AAG and RTS sessions, while some attend on an irregular basis. The Business Meeting in Honolulu attracted about 50 members with about 20 of these attending an RTS dinner at a local restaurant after the meeting. There is a strong sense of commitment and enthusiasm with this group reflected in the large number of sessions organised by group members. The field is growing very rapidly as shown in Klaus Meyer Arendt's Geography in America chapter and the introduction of a number of new tourism journals, including "Tourism Geographies".

Financial Report

A. Account Information: RTS Specialty Group Department of Geography, USC. Columbia, SC 29208

ID number 253978617:41300603020 5 Columbia (SC) Teachers Federal Credit Union 3122 Millwood Avenue, Box 5846, Columbia SC 29250-5846 tel 254-5222

Please note

The treasurer is changing but for the present SG rebate the account will be the same until the end of the summer.

B. Income and Itemized Expenses for Calendar Year 1998

19TH MARCH 1999

Balance as of 24th March $1447.61

Dividends (12 months)

AAG Dues (4th March 1998)


Sub total






Student Award 1998

USC Department of Geography (Newsletter Spring of 1997)

USC Department of Geography(Newsletter Fall of 1998)

Westfield State College(Newsletter Fall of 1999)

AB & R Trophy Company (Three Plaques)








Balance as of 19 March 1999 $1238.25

C. Estimated Income and Expenses for 1999-2000

Balance as of 19th March 1999 $1238.25

AAG dues (approx.)







Student awards

Newsletters May, December

Trophies for awards







Estimated balance $1238.25