May 28, 1997
Assoc. of American Geographers
1710 16th St., NW
Washington, DC 20009-3198

I. RECREATION, TOURISM, & SPORT SG DESCRIPTION: To provide a forum and to encourage research and teaching of applied and academic aspects of recreation, tourism, and sport geography. Dues $3 (student $1). Barbara Carmichael, Wilfrid Laurier University, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada N2L 3C5; Phone: 519-884-1970, Fax 519-725-1342, e-mail: bcarmichael@mach1.wlvu.ca.


A. CHAIRPERSON:Barbara Carmichael, Wilfrid Laurier University
B. SECRETARY-TREASURER: Lisle S. Mitchell, University of South Carolina
Charles Stansfield, West Chester State College (PA)
- Dimitri Ioanides, Southwest Missouri State University
- Simon Milne, McGill University
D. STUDENT BOARD MEMBER: Scott Loban of the University of South Carolina
E. RTS NEWSLETTER EDITOR: Robert Janiskee, University of South Carolina

III. LAST YEAR'S ACCOMPLISHMENTS. The major accomplishments of 1995-95 included the following:

A. Publication of two issue of the RTS-SG Newsletter (Bob Janiskee)

B. Compilation and distribution of an RTS membership directory (Bob Janiskee)

C. Continuation of an RTS Listserv discussion list, to which there are currently 128 persons subscribed (Bob Janiskee)

D. Establishment of an RTS Homepage: www.geog.nau.edu/rts/ (Alan Lew)

E. Student Paper Competition Awards at the AAG Annual Meeting in Fort Worth

- First place ($150) went to Barbara J. McNichol, University of Calgary, for her paper: Determining Group Images of Proposed Tourism Resort Developments;

- Second place ($100) went to Jonathan Wessell, Western Michigan University, Recreation Quality and Usage: A Comparative Study of Three West Michigan Rail-Trails.

- No award was given for Third place this year.

F. Establishment of the John Rooney Award for Applied Geography; receipient: Robert Britton, American Airlines

G. Joint AAG Annual Meeting sessions were organized with several other specialty groups, including:

Cosponsored sessions in 1997 were in association with the Transportation Geography SG, Rural Development SG, Regional Development and Planning SG, Geographical Perspectives on Women SG, and Cultural Geography SG.

H. At the AAG Annual Meeting at Fort Worth, TX, the RTS SG sponsored 9 paper sessions, 1 Panel sessions, and 1 plenary session.

I. Several papers presented in the Ecotourism sessions at the previous Charlotte, NC AAG meeting will be published in a book on Sustainable Tourism Geography, along with papers from the IGU meeting in The Hague. The book is being edited by Alan A. Lew and C. Michael Hall for Longman-Addison-Wesley (UK).

J. A set of guidelines for RTS Chairs has been established on the RTS Homepage that can be passed on from one chairperson to the next with suggestions on how to be an effective chair of the RTS SG


A. Annual Meeting: To organize several paper/poster and panel sessions, as well as a local field trip (not overnight) for the 1997 Boston, MA AAG Meeting.

B. Newsletter & Other Publications:

- To continue to publish the newsletter twice a year
- To continue to maintain the WWW Homepage for the SG to highlight provide general information on the field of RTS Geography and highlight member accomplishment.

C. Other:

- To actively promote the increase of student membership and participation in the RTS specialty group, as well as to work closely with the IGU study group as previously mentioned


1. Roy Wolfe Award for major contributions to RTS Geography. The 1995 Roy I. Wolfe Award is given to Dr. Robert L. Janiskee, University of South Carolina, for his outstanding contributions to the field of recreation/tourism geography and to the RTS SG.

- Dr. Janiskee becomes the nineth honored recipient of the Roy Wolfe Award, following the distinguished Lisle S. Mitchell (1988), John Rooney (1989), Richard V. Smith (1990), Geoff Wall (1991), Peter Murphy (1992), Carlton S. Van Doren (1993), Richard W. Butler (1994), and Charles A. Stansfield (1995).

2. John Rooney Award for Applied RTS Geography. The first award was given in 1997 to Robert A. Britton of American Airlines.

3. Current and past Chairpersons of the RTS SG consist of: Lisle S. Mitchell (1974-1981), Richard V. Smith (1981-1983), Stanley R. Lieber (1983-1985), Robert L. Janiskee (1985-1987), F. Andrew Schoolmaster (1987-1989), Richard W. Butler (1989-1991), Rudi Hartman (1991-1993), Klaus J. Meyer-Ardent (1993-1995), Alan A. Lew (1995-1997), Barbara Carmichael (1997-1999).


VII. MEMBERSHIP AND PARTICIPATION: Although membership is about 275 (at last count), only about 10% are "hard-core" members. Even though the RTS interests of this core group are quite diverse, there is a strong sense of cohesiveness and enthusiasm. As usual, we would like to increase the numbers of active participants--especially students!


A. Columbia (SC) Teachers Federal Credit Union
3122 Millwood Ave.
PO Box 5846
Columbia, SC 29250-5846
Acct #: 6030205
Routing #: 253978617

B. 1996 Income: $205.58 (prior to AAG DUES PAYMENT OF ABOUT $546)

C. Expenses: $402.27

D. Dues: $3 regular, $1 student

E. Estimated income, 1996: $600
Estimated expenses, 1996: $900

i. $300 RTS Newsletter
ii. $300 STudent Awards
iii. $300 RTS Directory (one-time expense)

F. Estimated income, 1997: $600
Estimated expenses, 1997: $600

i. $300 RTS Newsletter
ii. $300 Student Awards

Alan A. Lew, Ph.D., AICP, Associate Professor
Address for June 1997 to May 1998: Dept. of Geography, National
University of Singapore, Kent Ridge Crescent, Singapore 119260

Permanent address: Dept. of Geography & Public Planning, Northern
Arizona Univ., Box 15016, Flagstaff, Arizona 86011-5016, USA
E-mail: Alan.Lew@NAU.EDU URL: http://jan.ucc.nau.edu/~alew